36 SW Nye Street
Newport, Oregon 97365
Public Health: (541) 265-4112
Environmental Health: (541) 265-4127
Behavioral Health: (541) 265-4179
Primary Care: (541) 265-4947
Health Insurance Enrollment Assistance: (541) 265-0430
What is new about the ICAA?
The Oregon Indoor Clean Air Act (ICAA), which prohibits smoking indoors and within 10 feet, has been expanded to include the use of “inhalant delivery systems.”
People may not use e-cigarettes and other inhalant delivery systems in any indoor public spaces in Oregon, in cars with minors under the age of 18, or within ten feet of doors, windows that open, air intake vents or accessibility ramps.
What are inhalant delivery systems?
Inhalant delivery systems are devices that can be used to deliver nicotine and other substances in the form of a vapor or aerosol. These include e-cigarettes, vape pens, e-hookah and other devices.
Why is it a problem if people are exposed to e-cigarette vapor or aerosol?
Preliminary testing of e-cigarettes has identified chemicals known to cause cancer and birth defects in first and secondhand e-cigarette vapor. (Source: University of California, San Francisco, Center for Tobacco Control Research and Education.)
The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) analyzed samples of e-cigarettes and found carcinogens and detectable levels of other toxic chemicals.
Why is Oregon doing this?
The ICAA protects all Oregonians from the potential harms of e-cigarettes and other inhalant delivery systems. This is an important step toward protecting our kids and reducing their exposure to nicotine and tobacco.
Refer them to the free Oregon Tobacco Quit Line: Call 1-800-QUIT-NOW (1-800-784-8669) or visit www.quitnow.net/oregon/ to get started. Spanish Quit Line: 1-855-DEJELO-YA (1-855-335356-92) or www.quitnow.net/oregonsp/.
Am I required to post signs on my business that vaping is no longer allowed?
Yes. Beginning January 1st “No smoking or vaping” signs need to be placed at all entrances and exits.
Contact the Tobacco Prevention and Education Program Coordinator to get decals in English and/or Spanish. 541-265-6611 ext. 3281
Download printable signs at:
Employees and the public may report violations of the law by completing an online complaint form or, if you are unable to access the online form, by calling 1-866-621-6107. If Oregon business owners or employers are not in compliance with the law, they are subject to a fine up to $500 per day for each violation with a maximum $4,000 in a 30-day period.